About Burton Planning Services

Our mission is to provide our clients with sustainable planning, engineering and environmental solutions that are timely, affordable, and customized for the client’s specific needs. Burton Planning Services (BPS) strives to make communities livable, healthy, and sustainable. BPS was formed in 2008 by Kimberly Burton, P.E., AICP CTP, LEED AP ND. The company is DBE/MBE/WBE and EDGE certified. BPS is also a licensed engineering firm with a multi-disciplinary staff of 15 professionals with skillsets in hazard mitigation, environmental studies, city & transportation planning, economic & community development, civil engineering, zoning, graphic design, as well as public involvement.

Contact Us

Burton Planning Services
252 Electric Ave
Westerville, OH 43081 (MAP)


Key Staff Email:
Kimberly Burton, kburton@burtonplanning.com
Richard Carr, rcarr@burtonplanning.com
Kim Littleton, klittleton@burtonplanning.com
Elvin Pinckney, epinckney@burtonplanning.com
Michael Blau, mblau@burtonplanning.com
Lindsey Elam, lelam@burtonplanning.com

Key Staff & Contact 2018-01-16T18:56:04+00:00

Key Staff

Since its formation in 2008 by Kimberly Burton, BPS has grown into a firm of over 10 professionals.  The key staff are highlighted below.

Kim Burton, P.E., AICP CTP, LEED AP ND
Kim Burton, P.E., AICP CTP, LEED AP NDPresident
Ms. Burton has over 20 years of experience working in the public and private sectors, focusing on community & transportation planning, hazard mitigation, environmental studies, and noise and air quality analyses. Ms. Burton also teaches planning courses at the Ohio State University.
Richard Carr
Richard CarrDirector of Operations
Mr. Carr has over 20 years of experience in business management and operations. He manages the business operations for BPS, and he assists with fieldwork. Mr. Carr is also U.S. EPA trained in Renovation, Repair, and Painting to assist with housing rehabilitation inspections.
Kim Littleton, AICP
Kim Littleton, AICPCommunity Planning Manager
Mr. Littleton has over 30 years of experience in community planning and zoning. He has completed numerous comprehensive plans, community revitalization studies, and created zoning and development regulations, in addition to public involvement activities.
Elvin Pinckney
Elvin PinckneySenior Environmental Specialist
Mr. Pinckney has over 40 years of experience as a nationally-recognized noise and air quality expert. Prior to joining BPS, he served as the Ohio DOT’s Noise and Air Quality Program Manager. Mr. Pinckney is also a licensed Lead Risk Assessor experienced with housing rehabilitation projects.
Michael Blau, LCI, AICP
Michael Blau, LCI, AICPTransportation Planner
Mr. Blau has over 5 years of experience in transportation planning, focusing on pedestrian, bicycle, and transit planning. He is also an expert in autonomous vehicles, public health, and green infrastructure. Mr. Blau is a Certified Instructor for the League of American Bicyclists and a certified planner.
Richard Roths, AICP
Richard Roths, AICPSenior Hazards Planner
Mr. Roths has over 40 years of experience in hazard mitigation planning, disaster recovery, and emergency management. He is a certified planner and has received Outstanding Service Awards from the Association of State Floodplain Managers and Ohio Floodplain Management Association.