About Burton Planning Services

Our mission is to provide our clients with sustainable planning, engineering and environmental solutions that are timely, affordable, and customized for the client’s specific needs. Burton Planning Services (BPS) strives to make communities livable, healthy, and sustainable. BPS was formed in 2008 by Kimberly Burton, P.E., AICP CTP, LEED AP ND. The company is DBE/MBE/WBE and EDGE certified. BPS is also a licensed engineering firm with a multi-disciplinary staff of 15 professionals with skillsets in hazard mitigation, environmental studies, city & transportation planning, economic & community development, civil engineering, zoning, graphic design, as well as public involvement.

Contact Us

Address:
Burton Planning Services
252 Electric Ave
Westerville, OH 43081 (MAP)
614.392.2284

 

Key Staff Email:
Kimberly Burton, kburton@burtonplanning.com
Richard Carr, rcarr@burtonplanning.com
Kim Littleton, klittleton@burtonplanning.com
Elvin Pinckney, epinckney@burtonplanning.com
Michael Blau, mblau@burtonplanning.com
Lindsey Elam, lelam@burtonplanning.com

News Items 2018-05-13T23:00:07+00:00

News Items

News from Burton Planning Services.

  • April 2018: BPS has an exciting new project – developing an Online Comprehensive Plan for the Village of Johnstown! The final Comprehensive Plan will be converted to an interactive online format with live links to planning documents, mapping, and other data. Stay tuned for updates as the project progresses!

  • March 2018: BPS is working hard on a Sustainability Plan for the City of Dayton – ReNEW Dayton! We collected feedback from local community leaders and residents at a charrette and meetings to learn how this plan can best address their needs. There was an excellent turnout and it was great to see the vision the people have for their city!  Now we are assisting with developing strategies for plan.

  • February 2018: Congratulations to Michael Blau who published a paper in the International Journal of Sustainable Transportation: Driverless vehicles’ potential influence on bicyclist facility preferences. This month BPS also held the first group of trainings for the ODOT Active Transportation Academy with Columbus Public Health and City Schools.

  • January 2018: BPS is growing! We are happy to announce that Richard Roths and Anna van der Zwaag have joined BPS this month. Rich is a Senior Hazards Planner with over 40 years of experience in hazard mitigation planning, disaster recovery, and emergency management. Anna is an Associate Planner with a background in public health and community planning.

  • December 2017: BPS is celebrating its 9th anniversary! It has been our pleasure to work with a wonderful group of professionals and to serve communities over the past 9 years – and we look forward to many more. We are excited for you to explore our new, interactive website. Thank you for choosing BPS to help make your communities livable, healthy, and sustainable.

  • November 2017: Michael Blau, Transportation Planner for BPS, just passed his AICP exam, so he is now a certified planner with the American Institute of Certified Planners – congratulations Michael!

  • August 2017: BPS wins new projects! The firm was on the project teams that were recently chosen to complete two interchange studies, US-52 Interchange Study & US-23 & Monroe St/Alexis Rd Interchange & Corridor Feasibility Study (LUC-23-11.75). The firm also kicked off two additional projects this month, the Active Transportation Academy for ODOT and the Miami CR-25A Special Planning Area Master Plan.